Updated 18 March 2016

Types of schizophrenia


There are four subtypes of schizophrenia. It is important to realise that no two people with schizophrenia are the same, as the disorder has multiple clinical presentations and different levels of severity.

Phases of schizophrenia are:

Pre-morbid phase: period prior to onset of symptoms.

Pro-dromal or pre-psychotic phase: early symptoms involving changes in thoughts, feelings and behaviour may occur prior to the onset of the frank psychotic symptoms.

Acute phase: psychotic symptoms such as hallucinations, delusions, disorganised behaviour and disorganised thinking are experienced.

Residual or recovery phase: acute symptoms have subsided; some odd beliefs, vague abnormal perceptions and negative symptoms may persist.

It is often difficult to differentiate these four phases and symptoms of psychosis may occur to varying degrees in all four phases.

Read more:

The causes of schizophrenia

Treating schizophrenia

What is schizophrenia?

Reviewed by Dr Tasneem Mahomed, MBBCh (Wits), FC Psych (SA), Mmed (Psych) (Wits), Psychiatrist in private practice, Cape Town. (March 2015)


Live healthier

Gut health »

Can't lose weight? Blame it on your gut

Our nutrition experts weigh in on why gut health is such an important factor in weight loss, on World Obesity Day.

Sleep better »

Yes, there is such a thing as too much sleep

A new study confirms that too little sleep can impair your brain, but interestingly, too much sleep is also a problem.