Updated 07 July 2014

Malignant Hypertension

There are two major types of hypertension and four more not so common types, including Malignant Hypertension and Isolated Systolic Hypertension.


There are two major types of hypertension and four more not so common types, including Malignant Hypertension, Isolated Systolic Hypertension, White Coat Hypertension and Resistant Hypertension. 

Malignant Hypertension
This, the most severe form of hypertension, is severe and progressive. It rapidly leads to organ damage.  Unless properly treated, it is fatal within five years for the majority of patients.  Death usually comes from heart failure, kidney damage or brain haemorrhage.

However, aggressive treatment can reverse the condition, and prevent its complications. Malignant hypertension is becoming relatively rare, and is not caused by cancer or malignancy.

(Dr Kathleen Coetzee, MBChB)


Read Health24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Ask the Expert

Hypertension expert

Dr Jacomien de Villiers qualified as a specialist physician at the University of Pretoria in 1995. She worked at various clinics at the Department of Internal Medicine, Steve Biko Hospital, these include General Internal Medicine, Hypertension, Diabetes and Cardiology. She has run a private practice since 2001, as well as a consultant post at the Endocrine Clinic of Steve Biko Hospital.

Still have a question?

Get free advice from our panel of experts

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

* You must accept our condition

Forum Rules