06 May 2003

Kübler-Ross’s stages of dying

Kübler-Ross identified the following “stages” of dying...


Kübler-Ross identified the following “stages” of dying:

  • Denial and isolation: In this stage, the person denies that death is really going to take place. This reaction is commonly associated with any kind of terminal illness. However, denial is usually only a temporary defence and is eventually replaced with increased awareness when the person is confronted with such matters as financial considerations, unfinished business and worry about surviving family members.
  • Anger: The dying person realises that denial can no longer be maintained, and very often, feelings of anger, resentment, rage and envy follow. In this stage, the dying person wonders “why” he has to die. It can be difficult to care for a person in this stage since the anger can be displaced and projected onto the nurses, social worker, doctor, family member, etc. or even God. The realisation of loss becomes great, and those who symbolise life, energy, and competent functioning are especially salient targets of the dying person’s resentment and jealousy.
  • Bargaining: In this phase, the dying person develops the hope that death can somehow be postponed or delayed. Some persons enter into a bargaining or negotiation - often with God - as they try to delay their death. Psychologically the person is saying “Yes me, but...”. In exchange for a few more days, weeks, or months of life, the person promises to lead a reformed life dedicated to God or to the service of others.
  • Depression: Here the dying person comes to accept the certainty of death. This can be evident in several ways. The dying person may become silent, may refuse visitors, and may spend much of the time crying or grieving. This behaviour should be perceived as normal in these circumstances and is actually an effort to disconnect the self from all love objects. Efforts to cheer up the dying person at this stage should be discouraged, because the dying person has a need to contemplate impending death.
  • Acceptance: The dying person develops a sense of peace; an acceptance of one’s fate; and, in many cases, a desire to be left alone. In this stage, feelings and physical pain may be virtually absent. Kübler-Ross sees this stage as the end of the dying struggle, the final resting stage before death.
  • Kübler-Ross never intended the stages to be an invariant sequence of steps toward death, and individual variation should be recognised.


Read Health24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Ask the Expert

HIV/Aids expert

Dr Sindisiwe van Zyl qualified at the University of Pretoria in 2005. She is a patients' rights activist and loves using social media to teach about HIV. She is in private practice in Johannesburg.

Still have a question?

Get free advice from our panel of experts

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

* You must accept our condition

Forum Rules