Posted by: Cirrie | 2009/05/18

Oats &  Rye

Hi Doc! Please inform me if oats and rye are also in the " wheat"  category. I' m allergic to Wheat and Corn. Thanx.

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Cirrie
What you need to know is if you are specifically allergic to "gluten" which occurs in wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale, or if you are allergic to another protein in wheat and corn (maize)? I suspect the latter, but I would recommend that you contact the Allergy Association by visiting their Website at: to find out if your being allergic to wheat and corn will also make you allergic to oats and rye. If you were told that you have a gluten allergy then you will probably also have to avoid oats and rye, but should be able to eat maize or corn.
Best regards

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.