Our expert says:
Pure rye flour and 100% rye bread or crackers have a low gluten content. The gluten content of flours are determined by the plant species the flour is made of: wheat, rye, oats and barley flours all contain some gluten, but wheat flour has generally got the highest gluten level. If you suffer from severe gluten intolerance or coeliac disease then even a tiny amount of gluten could trigger all the unpleasant symptoms. If you are only moderately allergic to gluten then you may be able to eat some rye products, but do be careful.
The grains that severely gluten-intolerant patients can eat are: maize, rice, buckwheat, millet and quinoa.
The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal
advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.