Updated 28 June 2013

The phases of grief

The process of bereavement may be described as having four phases.

People cope with the loss of a loved one in different ways. Most people who experience grief will cope well. Others will have severe grief and may need treatment.

The process of bereavement is generally described as having four phases. It is important, though, to note that not everyone who grieves necessarily goes through all these stages and the order may be different.

Shock and numbness

Family members find it difficult to believe the death; they feel stunned and numb.

Yearning and searching

Survivors experience separation anxiety and cannot accept the reality of the loss. They try to find and bring back the lost person and feel ongoing frustration and disappointment when this is not possible.

Disorganisation and despair

Family members feel depressed and find it difficult to plan for the future. They are easily distracted and have difficulty concentrating and focusing.


In this final phase, the grieving family members begin to adapt and rebuild their inner world. Though grief never ends, the thoughts of sadness and despair diminish and positive memories of the deceased start taking over. 

(Source: National Cancer Institute)


Read Health24’s Comments Policy

Comment on this story
Comments have been closed for this article.

Live healthier

Exercise benefits for seniors »

Working out in the concrete jungle Even a little exercise may help prevent dementia Here’s an unexpected way to boost your memory: running

Seniors who exercise recover more quickly from injury or illness

When sedentary older adults got into an exercise routine, it curbed their risk of suffering a disabling injury or illness and helped them recover if anything did happen to them.