advertisement
Question
Posted by: Anne | 2012/10/04

Wheat/Gluten

What is the difference between wheat and gluten ? For someone who is on a wheatfree diet as a result of allergies this can be very confusing.

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Anne
Patients who are allergic to wheat are only allergic to this one grain and not to other types of grain. Patients who are allergic or intolerant to gluten which is a protein found in grains, have to avoid wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale. The latter patients are, thus only able to eat rice, sorghum, millet and quinoa when it comes to cereals. The condition of gluten intolerance is know as coeliac disease. If you are allergic to wheat itself, or wheat and gluten, then you need to check food labels very carefully because so many processed foods contain wheat flour. To read more about wheat and gluten allergies/intolerance click on 'Diet and Nutrition' at the top of this page and then on 'Allergy & intolerance'. Contact the Allergy Association by visiting their Website at: www.allallergy.net to find out more about allergies. The Allergy Association Website lists the foods that you need to avoid if you have a specific allergy. For recipes you can try the 'South African Cookbook for Food Allergies & Food Intolerance" by Hilda Lategan. Contact Hilda Lategan, who is also a dietitian, on (012) 546-6410) or send her an e-mail at: mwhildal@mweb.co.za .
Best regards
DietDoc

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

1
Our users say:
Posted by: DietDoc | 2012/10/04

Dear Anne
Patients who are allergic to wheat are only allergic to this one grain and not to other types of grain. Patients who are allergic or intolerant to gluten which is a protein found in grains, have to avoid wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale. The latter patients are, thus only able to eat rice, sorghum, millet and quinoa when it comes to cereals. The condition of gluten intolerance is know as coeliac disease. If you are allergic to wheat itself, or wheat and gluten, then you need to check food labels very carefully because so many processed foods contain wheat flour. To read more about wheat and gluten allergies/intolerance click on 'Diet and Nutrition' at the top of this page and then on 'Allergy & intolerance'. Contact the Allergy Association by visiting their Website at: www.allallergy.net to find out more about allergies. The Allergy Association Website lists the foods that you need to avoid if you have a specific allergy. For recipes you can try the 'South African Cookbook for Food Allergies & Food Intolerance" by Hilda Lategan. Contact Hilda Lategan, who is also a dietitian, on (012) 546-6410) or send her an e-mail at: mwhildal@mweb.co.za .
Best regards
DietDoc

Reply to DietDoc

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
advertisement