Posted by: Lee | 2009-01-29

What is whey?

I' m interested in taking a protein supplement as I don' t get much protein in my diet. I don' t eat red meat and diary is an incompatible food for me. The ingredient list of these protein supplements can be confusing and I can' t figure out if they contain dairy! What is whey protein and is it dairy based at all?

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Lee
Whey is the watery substance obtained when full-cream milk is separated. If you are either lactose intolerant or suffer from a milk protein allergy you won't be able to use products that contain whey. You will have to use a soya protein supplement or add soya milk and soya products to your diet to boost your protein intake.
Best regards

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

Our users say:
Posted by: Kasandra | 2009-01-29

If you struggle with milk\dairy just beware whey also made me puffy and bloated . . .and i had it with water.

Reply to Kasandra
Posted by: ss | 2009-01-29

It is also what Miss muffet ate :-)

Reply to ss
Posted by: Google | 2009-01-29

When the milk is being turned into cheese, the whey protein is a by-product.

Reply to Google

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.