advertisement
Question
Posted by: Lee-Ann | 2012/09/20

Pap

Hi Doc
Im trying to cut gluten foods in my diet. is maize pap made out of gluten ??

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Lee-Ann
It is important to understand that gluten is a type of protein that is found in certain cereals such as wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale. If you have been tested by a medical dr and have been found to be allergic ro gluten or to have what is called coeliac disease, then it is important to cut out gluten. Cereals that do not contain gluten are rice, sorghum, millet, quinoa and maize, so maize porridge does not contain gluten. If you have not been diagnosed with actual gluten allergy then it is not necessary to avoid all gluten as a gluten-free diet is very restrictive. Click on 'Diet & Nutrition' at the top of this page and then on 'Allergy & Intolerance' to read more about wheat allergy and gluten intolerance or coeliac disease. You can also contact the Allergy Association by visiting their Website at: www.allallergy.net to find out more about wheat allergies and gluten intolerance.
Best regards
DietDoc

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

1
Our users say:
Posted by: DietDoc | 2012/09/20

Dear Lee-Ann
It is important to understand that gluten is a type of protein that is found in certain cereals such as wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale. If you have been tested by a medical dr and have been found to be allergic ro gluten or to have what is called coeliac disease, then it is important to cut out gluten. Cereals that do not contain gluten are rice, sorghum, millet, quinoa and maize, so maize porridge does not contain gluten. If you have not been diagnosed with actual gluten allergy then it is not necessary to avoid all gluten as a gluten-free diet is very restrictive. Click on 'Diet & Nutrition' at the top of this page and then on 'Allergy & Intolerance' to read more about wheat allergy and gluten intolerance or coeliac disease. You can also contact the Allergy Association by visiting their Website at: www.allallergy.net to find out more about wheat allergies and gluten intolerance.
Best regards
DietDoc

Reply to DietDoc

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
advertisement