advertisement
Question
Posted by: Jone | 2010/11/28

Oats

I react really badly to Oats but not to brown bread. With in minutes of eating oats my stomach will swell up hugely. Does oats contain an ingredient that normal wheat doens''t and what other food has this ingredient.

Thanks

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Jone
People with food allergies or sensitivities can react to any individual food or group of foods. It is difficult to say which component of oats you are sensitive to, but it could be one of the protein components. Oats and wheat are 2 totally different grains or plants. So although individuals who are wheat-sensitive or suffer from gluten allergy (coeliac disease) are usually also sensitive to grains such as oats, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale, in your case you may be reacting to another component of oats that is not found in wheat. Because you can eat other grains, the easiest solution is to avoid all oats and products made with oats (oat biscuits, etc). If you should start reacting to other grains, please ask your medical doctor to do the relevant allergy tests to determine which grains you cannot eat.
Best regards
DietDoc

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

1
Our users say:
Posted by: DietDoc | 2010/11/28

Dear Jone
People with food allergies or sensitivities can react to any individual food or group of foods. It is difficult to say which component of oats you are sensitive to, but it could be one of the protein components. Oats and wheat are 2 totally different grains or plants. So although individuals who are wheat-sensitive or suffer from gluten allergy (coeliac disease) are usually also sensitive to grains such as oats, rye, barley, spelt, kamut, and titricale, in your case you may be reacting to another component of oats that is not found in wheat. Because you can eat other grains, the easiest solution is to avoid all oats and products made with oats (oat biscuits, etc). If you should start reacting to other grains, please ask your medical doctor to do the relevant allergy tests to determine which grains you cannot eat.
Best regards
DietDoc

Reply to DietDoc

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
advertisement