advertisement
Question
Posted by: Val Stricke | 2010-01-15

gluten free

Hi, are you aware that barley malt which is in kellogs cornflakes and rice crispies contains gluten.

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Val
Yes I am. However some patient with wheat-intolerance can eat small quantities of barley malt, in the same way that some of the patients can tolerate oats and rye. In addition Kellogg’s declare that their corn flakes are gluten-free containing less than 1.5 ppm (parts per million). Other types of malt such a sorghum malt, can also be used by patients with wheat allergy or intolerance.
Best regards
DietDoc
Best regards
DietDoc

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

3
Our users say:
Posted by: Tessa | 2010-01-15

I was instructed to remove anything containing, WHEAT, OATS, RYE or BARLEY from my diet as I am gluten intolerant. There' s other sneaky ingredients I' m told also contain gluten such as " hydrogenated vegetable fat" , so its useful to consult a dietician who can help you check labels on foods for the sneaky ones.

Reply to Tessa
Posted by: Delene | 2010-01-15

My daughter is gluten intolerant and i know that barley and malt contain gluten, but according to her dietician, rice crispies is gluten free.

Reply to Delene
Posted by: DietDoc | 2010-01-15

Dear Val
Yes I am. However some patient with wheat-intolerance can eat small quantities of barley malt, in the same way that some of the patients can tolerate oats and rye. In addition Kellogg’s declare that their corn flakes are gluten-free containing less than 1.5 ppm (parts per million). Other types of malt such a sorghum malt, can also be used by patients with wheat allergy or intolerance.
Best regards
DietDoc
Best regards
DietDoc

Reply to DietDoc

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
advertisement