Posted by: steve | 2009-03-12


Seen quite a bit lately about Gluten free or Wheat Free diets.

Is this important ?
What is this all about ?

Not what you were looking for? Try searching again, or ask your own question
Our expert says:
Expert ImageDietDoc

Dear Steve
Some individuals suffer from a gluten allergy. Gluten is one of the proteins that occurs mainly in wheat, but is also found in rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, titricale. If a person has a true gluten allergy, he will suffer from a condition called coeliac disease which then has to be treated by removing all gluten from the diet (i.e. all the above mentioned cereals and any foods that contain these cereals). The symptoms of coeliac disease are pronounced diarrhoea, bloating, abdominal pain, failure to thrive in children, etc. Other individuals who are allergic or sensitive to other components in wheat may develop other symptoms such as asthma, sinusitis, skin rashes, etc. Following a wheat-free diet is very difficult because you can basically only eat home made foods, fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, fish, eggs, milk and dairy products, fats and oils, plus rice and maize which are the only cereals that do not contain gluten.
Best regards

The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.

Our users say:
Posted by: Striks | 2009-03-12

Gluten consists of Barley, Wheat and Rye.
if you have an " allergy"  for gluten it can make you very ill. Believe me you will know. Therefore as a gluten intollerant person i am too gratefull when i read the ingredients an notice when something is gluten free. It makes my shopping for food and even new products on the market much easier. When you read the indredient lists on your foodstuff look out for the words thickner, starch, wheat. These are indicators of possible gluten in the product. (Don' t forget to read the labels of the spices in your grocery cupboard).

Reply to Striks

Have your say

Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.
Thanks for commenting! Your comment will appear on the site shortly.