Our expert says:
Patients with a true gluten allergy should not eat products that contain wheat, rye, oats, barley, spelt, kamut, or titricale. If bt 'corn bread' you are referring to bread made with mielies or maize, then you will have to find out of the bread contains any wheat flour, and if it does you will not be able to eat it. I don't know who informed you that corn bread is in the same class as red meat and sausages, but must admit that I cannot see what they are basing this statement on. Maize bread is a starchy food like other breads and starchy vegetables, while red meat is a high protein food. Nowadays sausages are difficult to classify because they seem to contain less and less meat and more and more soya protein which is derived from plants. Be careful of sausages because they also often contain wheat starch which is not permitted in gluten allergy.
Hope this helps
The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal
advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.