Our expert says:
Buckwheat is not a cereal or wheat despite its name, and it does not contain any gluten. You should be able to use it if you are gluten intolerant, but you will have to experiment to see if it can be used for baking because I do not think it will rise. Ironically it is the gluten in wheat that allows cakes and bread to rise when you add yeast or baking power. Contact you nearest health shop to find out if they stock it. Also ask how one prepares this grain. I do not have the nutritive composition of buckwheat available, but will surmise that it is similar in composition to other grains (high in starch, moderate fibre content, some B vitamins and some minerals). It may be worth the effort to include it in a gluten-free diet to provide some variety.
The information provided does not constitute a diagnosis of your condition. You should consult a medical practitioner or other appropriate health care professional for a physical exmanication, diagnosis and formal
advice. Health24 and the expert accept no responsibility or liability for any damage or personal harm you may suffer resulting from making use of this content.